





THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETI

EXTRAORDINARY

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 13, 1949

Resignation of Members of the Executive Council and of Ministers

Official Secretary's Office, Government House, Wellington, 13th December, 1949.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation of—

The Right Honourable Peter Fraser, C.H., holding a scat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Prime Minister, Minister of External Affairs, Minister of Maori Affairs, and

Minister of External Affairs, Minister of Maori Affairs, and Minister of Island Territories;

The Right Honourable Walter Nash, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Finance, Minister of Customs, and Minister of Stamp Duties;

The Honourable Henry Greathead Rex Mason, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Attorney-General and Minister of Justice;

The Honourable Robert Semple, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Works and Minister of Railways;

The Honourable William Edward Parry, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Internal Affairs and Minister of Social Security;

Affairs and Minister of Social Security;

The Honourable Frederick Jones, holding a scat in the Executive Council, and the office of Minister of Defence;

The Honourable Arnold Henry Nordmeyer, holding a scat in the Executive Council, and the office of Minister of

Industries and Commerce;
The Honourable Clarence Farringdon Skinner, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Lands and Minister of Forests;

The Honourable Angus McLagan, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Labour, Minister of Mines, Minister of Employment, and Minister of Immi-

of Mines, Minister of Employment, and Amazini gration;

The Honourable Edward Lutterell Culler, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Marketing;

The Honourable Frederick Hackett, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Postmaster-General and Minister of Telegraphs, Minister of Marine, and Minister of Transport:

of Transport;
The Honourable Mabel Bowden Howard, holding a seat in

the Executive Council, and the office of Minister of Health;
The Honourable Terence Henderson McCombs, holding a
seat in the Executive Council, and the office of Minister

The Honourable Eruera Tihema Tirikatene, holding a seat in the Executive Council; and The Honourable DAVID WILSON, holding a seat in the Executive

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Council. By Command, Members of Executive Council Appointed

Executive Council Chambers Wellington, 13th December, 1949.

II IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint. appoint-

The Honourable Sidney George Holland; The Honourable Keith Jacka Holyoake;

The Honourable WILLIAM SULLIVAN;
The Honourable THOMAS CLIFTON WEBB;
The Honourable RONALD MACMILLAN ALGIE;

The Honourable William Alexander Bodkin; The Honourable Charles Moore Bowden; The Honourable Walter James Broadfoot;

The Honourable Walter James Broadfoot;
The Honourable Ernest Bowyer Corbett;
The Honourable Frederick Widdowson Doidge;
The Honourable William Stanley Goosman;
The Honourable Thomas Lachlan Macdonald;
The Honourable Jack Thomas Watts;
The Honourable Grace Hilda Ross;
The Honourable John Ross Marshall; and
The Honourable Willeren Henry Kortung.

The Honourable WILFRED HENRY FORTUNE;

to be members of the Executive Council of New Zealand; and the above-named have taken the oath of office accordingly.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Ministers Appointed

Official Secretary's Office, Government House, Wellington, 13th December, 1949.

H S Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint—

The Honourable Sidney George Holland to be Prime Minister

and Minister of Finance;
The Honourable Ketth Jacka Holyoake to be Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Marketing;
The Honourable William Sullivan to be Minister of Labour,

Minister of Employment, Minister of Mines, and Minister

of Immigration;
The Honourable Thomas Clifton Webb to be Attorney-General and Minister of Justice;
The Honourable Ronald Macmillan Algie to be Minister of

Education:

The Honourable William Alexander Bodkin to be Minister of Internal Affairs;
The Honourable Charles Moore Bowden to be Minister of Customs, Minister of Industries and Commerce, and Minister of Stamp Duties;
The Honourable Walter James Broadfoot to be Postmaster-General and Minister of Telegraphs;
The Honourable Ernest Bowyer Corbett to be Minister of Lands, Minister of Forests, and Minister of Maori Affairs;
The Honourable Frederick Widdowson Doidge to be Minister of External Affairs and Minister of Island Territories;
The Honourable William Stanley Goosman to be Minister of Works, Minister of Transport, Minister of Railways, and Minister of Marine;
The Honourable Thomas Lachlan Macdonald to be Minister of Defence; and

of Defence; and The Honourable Jack Thomas Watts to be Minister of Social

Security and Minister of Health.

By Command, D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Minister of Supply Appointed

Official Secretary's Office Government House, Wellington, 13th December, 1949.

'IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

The Minister of Industries and Commerce to be the Minister of Supply for the purposes of the Supply Control Emergency Regulations 1939.

> By Command. D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Resignation of Parliamentary Under-Secretaries

Prime Minister's Office, Wellington, 13th December, 1949.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in terms of the Civil List Amendment Act, 1936, to accept, as from 12th December, 1949, the resignations of—

ARTHUR GEORGE OSBORNE, Esquire, and MICHAEL MOOHAN, Esquire,

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries in relation to the office of the Prime Minister; and

HARRY ERNEST COMBS, Esquire,

Parliamentary Under-Secretary in relation to the office of the Minister of Finance.

P. FRASER, Prime Minister.

Appointment of Parliamentary Under-Secretaries

Prime Minister's Office Wellington, 13th December, 1949.

III IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in terms of the Civil List Amendment At 1999 terms of the Civil List Amendment Act, 1936, to appoint-SIDNEY WALTER SMITH, Esquire, of Moerewa,

a Member of the House of Representatives,

to be a Parliamentary Under-Secretary in relation to the offices of the Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Marketing; and

WILLIAM ALFRED SHEAT, Esquire, of Hawera,

a Member of the House of Representatives,

to be a Parliamentary Under-Secretary in relation to the office of the Minister of Works.

S. G. HOLLAND, Prime Minister.